Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload

Reply to this post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: cheyler Date: Nov 24, 2006 2:46pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: GD Reviews

How to put this...
I'm glad that folks had good times at the shows and the occasional anecdote is welcome. Please, when reviewing a show...review the show! Not a review of the drive to the show, or a review of who you went with, or a review of what you ate before/during/after the show, or a review of how stoned/drunk you got, or a review of the weather (unless relevant), or a review of how loud your singing was. Review the show, the songs, the quality of the playing, anything relative to the music!
Nine times out of ten we get descriptions of everything BUT the music. These reviews are not here for you to reminisce, but for those who did not attend/have not heard the show to figure out whether or not it's worth hearing!
Review the show.
craigeyler@yahoo.com

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: lobster12 Date: Nov 24, 2006 7:38pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

seriously, try a guy named dmilks. he's pretty solid

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: another one Date: Nov 24, 2006 3:12pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

o cmon, lighten up. does it really matter all taht much? if it gives some people joy to remember (or at least try to remember) the shows they went to why stop them? plus, everyone's opinion on the music is different anyway, and how many times have you read "best -insert song- ever" and it turns out to be only mediocre. i will give you that stories that arnt even the slightest bit interesting are a little unwanted, but if someone wants to post bout the music, more power to them.. if someone wants to post bout their expereiences then i say tahts cool too

This post was modified by another one on 2006-11-24 23:11:23

This post was modified by another one on 2006-11-24 23:12:53

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: johnnyonthespot Date: Nov 24, 2006 4:15pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

YEP! That's EXACTLY what I was thinking. First of all there are HUNDREDS of shows and runs that are legendary and all of us that collect and/or are obsessed with the Dead cut our teeth on and know about. As for the rest I rely more on word of mouth and more than that stumbling across them. Maybe I'm crazy but I can't even count how many shows I've seen as FIVE stars where the sound sucks, or three stars where the sound is PLENTY damn good for what you get ( eg a vintage acoustic 70's set or something ). And to me sound quality is often the only thing you can realistically " grade" a show on and even then...As for performance - usually WAY too subjective for me. I've been transcended by many a "mediocre"show when it hits just right and bored by many a fantastic show too. That's one of the amazing things about this band they're not just subjective from person to person they're subjective from point in time to point in time. I mean I can get two totally different things from listening to the same show at two different times.

So to make a long story longer in response to your peeves about reviews to quote the band named The Band - " you take what you need and you leave the rest"

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: high flow Date: Nov 24, 2006 5:39pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

Best way to find a hot show? Follow the threads baby!!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: johnnyonthespot Date: Nov 24, 2006 5:43pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

HEY! High Flow is back! How was the trip?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: high flow Date: Nov 24, 2006 5:48pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

Yeah Johnny. Thanks. Just exactly perfect...

More later.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: johnnyonthespot Date: Nov 24, 2006 6:02pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

Right on! Welcome back.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Nov 24, 2006 6:21pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

oh god, he actually returned - probably has the plague from being bitten by Mickey on the nads - oh well, guess we'll have to deal with him anyways - such is life ;)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Nov 24, 2006 3:26pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

right on - plus how many review thread have you seen that have ranged from "spectacular sound" to "muddy and barely audible"?? no way to tell unless you listen for yourself - unless you see a particular reviewer you happen to trust.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SDH2O Date: Nov 24, 2006 4:53pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

Yeh, excuse me but when I reviewing a show I was actually at, the whole scene before and after the show is key to my overall perception. Including all the "extraneous" stuff is just my way of painting a complete picture. If you do not like that stuff, don't read it. This board is all about having the freedom to say whatever is on your mind, good or bad (and if it's too bad, we'll sick Dire on you), not having to follow certain guidlines and format. For me, one of the joys of the whole Dead scene is the ability to be myself and let you all know what's on my mind, and if you disagree with me, by all means let me know, but do NOT tell me what I can and cannot say. As Mike Tyson once said so eloquently: "If you don't like what I'm saying, why don't you just turn off your station." Whatever he meant, I couldn't agree him more.

(Sorry if this comes off as a little harsh, but I just read a response to my "Now I'm Thankful" post from an indiviudual who apperently took my little missive as an affirmation of overdrinking. Now, let me say that in no way do I want to take away from the success he has had beating something that has killed too many people, I think that is outstanding. Just want to say that my "priorities" are fine; love my kids, my wife (all of whom come first in my life, I don't mind riding in the backseat), my parents, all my friends and all of you. Do I like the occaisional drink? Yes. Do I drink regularly? No. Do I like, no love, a good, no great, bottle of scotch? Hell yes. Did I get drunk last night? Yes. When was the last time I got drunk? Seriously, I think it was 2003. Usually don't like anything that causes me to loose any type of control (other than my wife) and this puts alchohol at the top of the list. Ooops, kind of went off again; shit, I better chill out. Sorry everyone.

This post was modified by SomeDarkHollow on 2006-11-25 00:20:56

This post was modified by SomeDarkHollow on 2006-11-25 00:53:17

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: johnnyonthespot Date: Nov 24, 2006 5:20pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

Hey if drinkin and druggin take over your life then that is a bad thing. I'm with you though as far as your priorities first. I too put my family first and have a steady career. Having said that I LIKE to drink and I've been drunk many times since 2003 : )

I don't drink and drive and I don't get all sloppy ( usually ) and I have never gotten abusive or mean but I'd be lying if I said I don't enjoy a good buzz.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: orchiddoctor Date: Nov 24, 2006 7:39pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

This thread is probably played out, but an additional 2 cents:

It often seems that the best shows are the ones we went to.
Sometims, that may ring true. It's better to have been at the show and seen and heard it live than simply on a tape.
On the other hand, when we remember who we went with, what we were doing, what we ate, etc., that has nothing to do with the quality of the music of the tape.

There are shows that I went to that get terrible reviews, but I swear they were great. Of course, there were plenty of shows I went to that WERE great (and quite a few have even become Dick's Picks!).

I think that there is room for travelling down memory lane, but not at the expense of objectivity.


Might be worth a thread about favorite show memory . . . .

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Nov 24, 2006 9:24pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

still doesnt' matter - like i said before everyone subjectivity even with the "sound quality" is different - the reviews are useless unless you have a particular reviewer you are comfortable with. I mean seriously....

again.... now many show range from "terrible sound" to "awesome sound" on the same review - forget the reviewers experience "during" the show - the reviewers here cant even agree on the quality of the actual archived material.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: orchiddoctor Date: Nov 25, 2006 7:53am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

Very, very true. And it will always be thus. If you read Dwork's Compendium, for example, Brian Dyke reviews much of ths Spring of 71 He makes it abundantly clear that he does not like this period, that he finds it dull and void of any real musical growth. I think if you have a dilike of something before you hear it, you will likely still have that dislike. The vice be the versa. I love 1967--72, so it would be easy for me to champion those shows. But I am very selective. And, you would not want me to review shows from the eighties or nineties. I don't care for the post Keith Dead, so I would be unfair (not that I don't like certain shows or songs).

I will often read a review that says simply, "Yay Hooray." Big deal. Give me something I can use.

But the reviews seem to serve as much as a forum as anything else. These aren't "professional reviewers" (whatever that means), so take them for what they are worth.


As to sound quality reviews: agreed. I grew up with muddy audiences and hissy off speed sbds. But I loved them. What is now a "Hissy" sbd is a treasure. BUT that doesn't mean it isn't hissy or rough or cut beyond repair. Right: be honest. If the sound really is crispy--say near the level of DP, say so. If it is so so, say so. If it downright sucks, tell us.

If you are an elitist, your review will be worthless.
And look for Dr. Flashback's seal of approval!!


D.W.: as you obviously are well versed in Dead music/concerts, your reviews would be welcomed.

Maybe those of us who are versed in certain periods should go back and review each concert in that time zone???

This post was modified by orchiddoctor on 2006-11-25 15:49:21

This post was modified by orchiddoctor on 2006-11-25 15:53:24

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Nov 25, 2006 8:05am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

well put orchiddoctor (as usual)!!

p.s. i do get lazy in even contemplating reviewing the shows, i don't know why - no excuse (not that my two cents may add up to a hill of beans by any stretch). I really should put a comment or two on some Dead and Kimock shows - who knows?? maybe some other folks may share my own tastes and/or ears - thanks for the push/reminder man :)

peace

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: orchiddoctor Date: Nov 25, 2006 11:43am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

Well, my friend, you certainly have a lot of good things to say on the forum, and you know your stuff. Maybe if some of us do post more reviews--especially on less famous shows--we can open up a diologue on what makes this or that show hum--or suck.

I've only done one review--for Gaelic Park, August 1971, in which I do give a touch of background (e.g. it was a rain make up, the venue, etc., a memorable moment), but I think I could put some perspective on the early stuff. Having seen the formative dead, I have an affinity towards that era. Yes, that makes me biased, but it also makes me better versed in that area. Or so I'd like to think.

Make a deal with you, Mr. Wolf. You do one and I'll do one. And maybe someone else will do one--after a good listen.

What say you?


This post was modified by orchiddoctor on 2006-11-25 19:43:47

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Nov 25, 2006 3:27pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

sounds like a good deal orchiddoctor :) good idea!! seems to me, and i may be dead wrong, that alot of us regulars really don't do too many reviews on the shows themselves. On the forum, yes, but not in the archived shows themselves.

my showgoing days were primarily 84 - 90. my areas of listening are primarlily 73 - 90 (though i do expand from those years frequently, just the bulk of my "stuff" is from there)

from now on when i listen to a show, i will endeavor to throw out even quick review of the quality of the show and it's sound (and if i was there - i may add a tidbit of my experience - nothing wrong with that at all in my personal opinion)

thanks for bringin this to my attention - very good idea and a long time coming what i should be adding to the LMA experience (even if what i add may be useless to others at times)

I don't want to speak for orchid, but i think both he and i both would like to invite the rest of us to jump on in and add some reviews and tidbits to the archived reviews. could be fun :)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: lobster12 Date: Nov 24, 2006 7:32pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

What do you mean? How can you not get useful info on a show when a review starts out like...."Pandarvis and I drove down from Eugene. We just got back from Tracy's house and we were preparing for Tony's homecoming...." Brutal. However, there was one review from that tito guy that compared a great second set to get 3 free pizzas delivered by a naked woman. Can't get into graphic descriptions but I thought that was pretty funny

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: johnnyonthespot Date: Nov 24, 2006 8:15pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

Yeah but not as brutal as this one guy's reveiws. Can't remember his name but they go on and on and on waxing poetic even about the most mundane versions of the Cowboy tunes. And the metephors he uses are about up there with George Castanza's " the Sea was angry that day my friends, like an old man sending soup back at a deli.."

Wish I could remember his name.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: lobster12 Date: Nov 24, 2006 8:27pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

That's priceless.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: johnnyonthespot Date: Nov 24, 2006 9:18pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

Do you know the guy I'm talking about?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: daliguana Date: Nov 25, 2006 6:11am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

I can't remember his name, but yeah, I have read a few of his "reviews" and they are more than brutal. Almost funny, but you get the idea that the guy thinks he's way too cleaver.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: grendelschoice Date: Nov 25, 2006 12:39pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

I second this emotion.

I want objective reviews of 1) How well the band performed and 2) sound quality of the DL.

I DO read and take the reviews seriously when these are the criteria, b/c 90% of the folks on this forum really know their stuff.

But I don't care how hard you tripped at a show or whether you thought some guy standing next to you looked like Castro or Santa Claus. (Or maybe you could add those fun facts AFTER giving a solid review.)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: tigerbolt Date: Nov 24, 2006 2:55pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

must have read a tito and smokey review,search doctor flashback or stracaster for some great reviews.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Nov 24, 2006 2:59pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

lol - but tito & smokey's reviews were so informative - especially his great introspective "go smoke a pickle" comments :)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: tigerbolt Date: Nov 24, 2006 3:05pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

did he get banned?crazy guy

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Nov 24, 2006 3:23pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

sure did - thanks to your truly :)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: cheyler Date: Nov 24, 2006 9:36pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

Not much response, I guess this subject has been covered a few hundred times. What's this about 'go smoke a pickle'? I mean, I get the metaphor but who was using it in his posts?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: direwolf0701 Date: Nov 24, 2006 9:41pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: GD Reviews

the infamous "tito&smokey" - great reviewer (cough) - thank god he got banned